WordPress.org

Making WordPress.org

Opened 10 months ago

Closed 10 months ago

Last modified 10 months ago

#3923 closed enhancement (fixed)

Prevent plugin developers from removing their own commit access, if they're the only account

Reported by: Ipstenu Owned by: dd32
Milestone: Priority: normal
Component: Plugin Directory Keywords:
Cc:

Description

If a plugin only has one person with commit access, we should NOT allow that person to remove their own commit bit.

We should require they add someone before they can remove themselves. That way we can prevent silly moments where a dev clicked the wrong thing.

Note: ADMINS should remain able to remove all committers as we sometimes need to do this for security.

Change History (3)

#1 @dd32
10 months ago

  • Owner set to dd32
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

In 7876:

Plugin Directory: Prevent a user removing themselves as the committer, if they're the only committer.

Fixes #3923.

#2 @dd32
10 months ago

[7876] covers the scenario here, where there's only one user.

If there's multiple committers, one can revoke their own commit still, which then also locks them out of being able to delete any other committers - so it's impossible for a non-admin to ever end up with no committers on a plugin.

#3 @Ipstenu
10 months ago

That's fine if they remove themselves, as long as there's ONE committer :)

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.