WordPress.org

Making WordPress.org

Opened 6 months ago

Closed 6 months ago

Last modified 6 months ago

#5131 closed enhancement (fixed)

Add "Transfer this plugin" to the new Danger Zone

Reported by: Ipstenu Owned by: dd32
Milestone: Priority: low
Component: Plugin Directory Keywords:
Cc:

Description

In #1560 I've pitched a minor redesign that mimics Github's Danger Zone, making it more clear that here be dragons. Hopefully.

A feature I've always wanted to add would fit perfectly in there : Transfer This Plugin.

IF you are the plugin owner (and only the owner), you can click on a button that will prompt you to put in someone's user ID. That feature would then change the plugin owner to that account and REMOVE the requester's commit bit.

It may be useful to have an option "check here to KEEP your commit access" for people who are giving their plugin to (say) their company Toast SEO, but should retain commit access.

Change History (7)

#1 @dd32
6 months ago

To be clear - Plugin ownership is determined by the post_author field right?

#2 @Ipstenu
6 months ago

Yes. Plugin ownership is determined by the post_author field.

#3 @dd32
6 months ago

  • Owner set to dd32
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

In 9702:

Plugin Directory: Introduce a 'Transfer This Plugin' form to reassign ownership of a plugin to another committer.

This does not remove the old owners commit rights, only transfers the ownership of it. The committer may choose to remove their commit rights afterwards.

Fixes #5131.

#4 @dd32
6 months ago

I decided against changing the commit rights of the requester, but also required that the new owner be a committer already (even if only added 2 seconds ago). The original owner can remove their commit bits immediately afterwards.

Hopefully this reduces the error-rate of transferring a plugin to the wrong person, and also ensures that the new owner has access to the tool themselves.

If a current plugin owner is NOT a committer, or the plugin is closed/not-yet-published, they can't access the transfer ownership functionality.

#5 @dd32
6 months ago

In 9703:

Plugin Directory: Fix a typo.

Props tobifjellner.
See #5131.

#6 @Ipstenu
6 months ago

I approve of both those tweaks :)

#7 @dd32
6 months ago

In 9707:

Plugin Directory: Require confirmation before transferring and closing a plugin.

This also requires specifically selecting a new owner of the plugin.

See #5131, #1560.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.