Making WordPress.org

Opened 2 years ago

Last modified 2 years ago

#6006 new enhancement

When a normal translator suggests a translation with a wrong url in it, then there is no "discard" option within the message

Reported by: psmits1567's profile psmits1567 Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Component: Translate Site & Plugins Keywords:
Cc:

Description

This is not consistent with the behavior when a PTE/GTE adds a translation.
The current behavior is saving the record first then give a warning.
It does not matter which roll you have.
The difference is that a PTE/GTE gets the opportunity to "Discard" the message, after which the editor is cleared from the warning.
If a normal translator suggests a translation with a wrong URL, only the warning is show but no "Discard" link.
The problem for a normal translator is, that the editor screen is altered so the translation is moved downwards.
It would be better to make it consistent, so also a normal translator can discard the message, and gets the full editor screen back. Maybe also the text could be improved by adding "Please correct your error and suggest/save again"

Change History (2)

#1 @tobifjellner
2 years ago

In this case "Discard" mean not only to "close the warning", but actually to "remove" it. In other words, discarding a warning is an action that is, and should be, exclusive to translation editors.

#2 @psmits1567
2 years ago

  • Type changed from defect (bug) to enhancement

It is the behavior that needs improving, when a non GTE/PTE adds an url that is incorrect. When a warning is shown that the url is wrong and needs correction it would help preventing those wrong translations stay behind. Be aware that sometimes it is done intentionally, e.g. the locale is added to the url.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.